Organic Mod Basics Stripe Blanket

A couple of weeks ago I got a TON of new fabrics in for the fabric shop. Over 40 new organic cotton prints from Birch Fabrics had arrived and I was in FABRIC HEAVEN! Even my five year old ‘helper’ was giddy with the prospect of so many mix and match possibilities!

20120310-230842.jpg

Understandably, I was eager to get to work right away, but first, I had to find a place to put it all! Once it was stored, photographed and posted for sale in the shop, I had one of those quiet, nocturnal sewing sessions that, when they go well, makes it much easier to tolerate dragging my tired behind through the following day. I had pinned this little ‘lovey’ on Pinterest and now used it as inspiration.

I adjusted the measurements as I was using considerably less then the 12 prints she did and I was making a smaller blanket, as opposed to a quilt. I backed mine with this incredibly soft organic fleece I have in the shop; super buttery soft.

I cut SIX 1.5 inch strips of the organic cotton white. I cut them to the length of the fabric.

I cut SIX 4.5 inch strips of each of the prints I wanted to use. In my case two strips of each Dottie, Abacus and Solid.

I cut ONE 9 inch strip of the Elephants from Ellie Farm.

I put them in the order I liked and started to sew the white strips to the prints.

I pressed as I went, because that’s how I sew, but have heard from many experienced quilters you can skip that part until the end if you prefer. I kept sewing until I had the whole top assembled.

Once complete I folded it in half each way and used my large ruler to make all of the edges even and straight. Once the top was complete I laid the organic bamboo batting on the work table (use the floor if you don’t have a large work surface), laid the fleece (fuzzy side up) on top of it and then placed the top of the blanket face down on top of those. Pin. I did a rough cut with my trusty sewing scissors around the edges. Since you have made the edges of your blanket straight and wonderful (right?) you can use the edge of the blanket top as your guide while stitching.

When I sewed them all together I left an 18 inch opening and sewed around the rest of the blanket. Once the sewing was complete I took my large ruler and cut all of the edges down to 1 inch from the seam and then trimmed the corners. I turned it right side out, using my super high tech….orphan chopstick… as a poker to make the corners square and pressed it firmly all the way around. Once all was pressed I top stitched around the top edges and along the print side of each strip . The end result is a kind of modern, cheater quilt in a fraction of the time of a traditional quilt. As I have mentioned in previous posts, I like faster better. 🙂 The thing I love most about this type of blanket is it can be broken down into smaller increments of time if, like many of us, you are only able to work in half hour sittings. It’s also quick and easy just to pick up where you left off.

20120310-230950.jpg

 

If you need more instruction, or courage, to give this a try there are a gazillion blanket tutorials out there if you Google but here and here are two that generally have the same idea.

Tutorials aren’t really my strong point so if you have questions just ask. 🙂

Happy crafting,

Jodi

One response to “Organic Mod Basics Stripe Blanket

  1. What was the finished size of this blanket (quilt)?

Leave a Reply

amaryllis log

create something

Pincushion Treats

Creating treats, one stitch at a time

skirt as top

suō ergo sum :: i sew, therefore i am

charlottesfancy.wordpress.com/

Favorite Things, Family Life, Fun Projects

New Here

...two chics trying to be crafty....

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

the doodle house

A gleeful account of the escapades of two 20-somethings, our dogs and a little house in Austin.

M&J Blog

...two chics trying to be crafty....

Sue Schlabach

Artist, photographer and upcycler living in Vermont. Viewer of the world through eyes and lens.

California Pixie Vintage Fashion Decor Style Blog

Kimi Encarnacion is a vintage junkie with an obsession for kitschy decor and a mad love for fashion and personal style.

Project Palermo

Fixing Up a Chicago Bungalow

SEW KATIE DID

because thread is the best glue.

Sowelu Studio

Living A Life. . .Well Crafted

Crafty Baba

Chatting about sewing and crafting from Suffolk. Have a peek at our main site at www.craftybaba.co.uk

